Lessons

If an elderly but distinguished scientist says that something is possible he is almost certainly right, but if he says that it is impossible he is very probably wrong.

Arthur C. Clarke

A new scientific truth does not triumph by convincing its opponents and making them see the light, but rather because its opponents eventually die and a new generation grows up that is familiar with it.

Max Planck

To be uncertain is to be uncomfortable but to be certain is to be ridiculous.

Goethe

Choose to be puzzled.

after Will Kyselka

Books

Coming from Simon and Schuster 9/1

Image
Reviews
  • A sobering and scary (and fascinating) book--a look at where we're going if we don't quickly get our act together. And it's replete with clues about how we could indeed make the changes that would make this fiction, not prophecy. Bill McKibben
  • Powell debuts with an alarming, somber vision of catastrophic climate change over the course of the 21st century in this speculative oral history. Powell lays out an intriguing level of detail about the cascading effects of climate change. Fans of climate apocalypse fiction will be chilled by this convincing work. Publisher's Weekly

This vivid, terrifying, and galvanizing novel reveals our future world after previous generations failed to halt climate change—perfect for fans of The Drowned World and World War Z.

2084: Global warming has proven worse than even the direst predictions scientists had made at the turn of the century. No country—and no one—has remained unscathed. Through interviews with scientists, political leaders, and citizens around the globe, this riveting oral history describes in graphic detail the irreversible effects the Great Warming has had on humankind and the planet.

In short chapters about topics like sea level rise, drought, migration, war, and more, The 2084 Report brings global warming to life, revealing a new reality in which Rotterdam doesn’t exist, Phoenix has no electricity, and Canada is part of the United States. From wars over limited resources to the en masse migrations of entire countries and the rising suicide rate, the characters describe other issues they are confronting in the world they share with the next two generations.

Simultaneously fascinating and frightening, The 2084 Report will inspire you to start conversations and take action.

Click image to read a sample and order the e-book.
Click
here to order the paperback.

Reviews
  • If the hypothesis of the impact is correct (and I am very impressed with the data) it is perhaps the most important hypothesis in the Earth Sciences, with ramifications in other fields, since plate tectonics. This is particularly so for its consequences on the history of peoples over the last 12,800 years. Prof. Ed Keller, UCSB
  • I recommend the book — it is a fascinating read. The evidence is overwhelming and nicely collected and summarized by Powell.Prof. Marc Defant, Uni. S. Florida
  • The Greenland platinum peak makes clear that an ET impact occurred close to the onset of the YD. Wallace Broecker (1931 - 2019)
  • This book was long overdue, and James Powell deserves a thank you from the planet for writing it. Read this book and join the enlightenment.. George Howard
  • Describes the history of the YDIH masterfully [and] shines a light on the dark side of science. If the YDIH is a paradigm shift, then this book will be a very important contribution to the advancement of science.Allen West

Now Available to Publishers

Image
From the Preface
  • Scientists have picked the lock that guards the Moon's secrets and the door is swinging open. Behind it lies an event of indescribable horror.

The Consensus on Anthropogenic Global Warming

Anthropogenic Global Warming: Publishing Scientists Unanimous in 2019

Stacks Image 4482040

Powell, J. (2020). Scientists Unanimous on Anthropogenic Global Warming in 2019. Bulletin of Science, Technology & Society.
https://doi.org/10.1177%2F0270467620922151
The article is free to download or read online.
See Methodology.


Original Survey Covering Jan-Aug 2019
Powell, J. (2019). Scientists Reach 100% Consensus on Anthropogenic Global Warming. Bulletin of Science, Technology & Society. https://doi.org/10.1177/0270467619886266


James Lawrence Powell
© 2020 Contact Me